ULEB, Union des Ligues Européennes de Basket-ball, News
Euroleague Teams Euroleague Competition System Euroleague Logo

New 013 Salonica,7-11-2000


We send you some details abouth the Euroleague draw wich will take place tomorrow, Wednsday, 12th July at 13,00h local time (10,00 GTM) in Thessaloniki.

Draw's Sistem
In accordance with the system of competition, the 24 teams will be divided into four groups, named A, B, C, and D, by means of a draw in which the following criteria will be considered:

a) The country ranking as drawn up by the FIBA.
b) Teams ranking of constitution of de Euroleague
c) That two teams from the same country may not be in the same group. Before the draw, given the above criteria, the teams will be divided into six levels, with four teams in each, as follows:

First level
Kinder Bologna, Olympiakos B.C., F.C. Barcelona, Zalgiris Kaunas
Second level
Teamsystem Paf Bologna, AEK BC, Real Madrid C.F., KK Buducnost
Third level
Benetton Treviso, Paok BC, Adecco Estudiantes, Cibona VIP
Fourth level
Müller Verona, B.C. Peristeri, Tau Cerámica, Olimpija Ljubljana
Fifth level
KK Zadar, Opel SkyLiners Frankfurt, Hapoel Soda Jerusalem B.C., St. Petersburg Lions
Sixth level
Ovarense Aerosoles, Spirou Charleroi, Haribo London Towers, Lugano

On each of these levels there will be a draw to decide which group each team goes into; as a result six draws will be needed to complete the groups A, B, C and D. In the first place will be the draw of the first level, and then the second level, followed by the third, fourth, fifth and finally the sixth level.

In each of the draws, the team drawn in first place will be assigned to group A, the second to group B, the third to group C and the fourth to group D. This order will only be altered to prevent two teams from the same country from landing in the same group, and in such a case, the team drawn will be assigned to the next group enabling this coincidence to be avoided.

Draw for the clarendar of ties
Once the composition of the four groups has been determined, the draw will be made to assign numbers for the calendar of ties of the Regular League in each group. In this draw, the teams from each group will be assigned a number from 1 to 6. A single draw will be held for all groups and will be entirely pure. The ties of the Regular League will occur in accordance with the following table:

1st day ® 6-3 4-2 5-1 6th day
2nd day® 1-6 2-5 3-4 7th day
3rd day ® 6-4 5-3 1-2 8th day
4th day ® 6-2 3-1 4-5 9th day
5th day ® 5-6 1-4 2-3 10th day

Players who will take part of the ceremony
The ceremony will have the participation of some of the greatest European basketball players from past and the present: Panagiotis Yannakis, Juan Antonio San Epifanio, Zarko Paspalj, Roberto Brunamonti, Predrag Stojakovic, Marco Bonamico and Vlade Divac.


    Principal Page News
Previous New Previous New | Principal Page News | Next New Next New    


ULEB [ Principal | What's the ULEB | History
Belgium | England | France | Greece | Italy | Poland | Portugal | Spain | Switzerland
News | Sports Conference | Media Guide
Site Map | Site Info | ]

Copyright © 2000, ULEB. All Rights Reserved.

LEGA, Italia PLK, Poland BLB, Belgium LCB, Portugal LNB, France HEBA, Greece BBL, England ACB, Spain LNBA, Switzerland Directory News Latest News